PDA

View Full Version : Why Baylor?

JGTBH
12-22-06, 11:55 AM
My Daughter has been accepted to every school she has applied to for the fall of 2007. She is top 20% of her class and made a 1250 SAT. She wants to major in Psychology, but I could see that changing many times between now and 2012. I kind of thought she would end up at Texas, but she got scarred by how big it is. She has now narrowed her choices to Baylor and North Texas. I'm a teacher and my wife is a secretary, so college anywhere is going to be a financial pain in the butt for our family.

She would like to know what makes Baylor worth the extra $25,000 a year?

I'll hang up and listen...

Ghostrider
12-22-06, 12:11 PM
If I could not afford BU, I would not go....why go so far in debt? There is very little correlation between where you graduate and how much money you make (ie see the CEO's of the top 200 largest companies....not many Ivy Leaguers).

If she were my daughter I'd look at UT or ATM though over UNT.

PhiChi56
12-22-06, 12:27 PM
1250? I made that in the sixth grade. Seriously.

piratestef
12-22-06, 12:37 PM
One of the biggest things that's impressed me about Baylor and kept me here was the fact that most of the profs actually care about the students. I've had more trouble just staying healthy than most college students ever have to deal with (hence BBL's sarcastolicious thread on me, ha ha), but folks have worked with me on how I can get well and get through at the same time. Really impressive, IMHO. My parents swear up and down that if I'd have been at either of their schools (Purdue and Midwestern State), I'd have flunked out by now, no matter what got in the way of me making it to class.