+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Can you apply for unemployment if you never had a job?

I graduated from Baylor undergrad in 2004 and have over $160K in school debt. I have been looking for any permanent employment opportunities, but have found none. Currently I am working at Starbucks in Dallas for $8/hour and I am starting to panic. I knew Baylor would not be an automatic job and I know that the economy sucks right now, but I thought I would be somewhat competitive. I was told that Baylor is not that competitive in Dallas because schools like UT and SMU both dominate the market and that I should focus on smaller towns and Houston. Has any recent grads within the last 5 years have similar problems? Also, how do you file for unemployment?

My Mood
    Amused
    In the U.S. typically, to collect unemployment benefits you have to have worked and have been fired or laid-off, and you have to be looking for work and be employable. The amount of your benefit is dependent upon the wage you were receiving while you were working and the length of time you worked. Unless you get fired from Starbucks and no one else will hire you, you will not be eligible for unemployment benefits. To file once you are eligible you would contact your local state unemployment office.

Before you go blaming your BU degree for your lack of employability, what type of degree do you have? What was the major emphasis of your studies?

Starbucks pays $8/hour?

Google "texas unemployment benefits."

Quote Originally Posted by lookdonttouch View Post